Home > Events > Wymondham Symphony Orchestra Autumn Concert

Wymondham Symphony Orchestra Autumn Concert

26 Nov 2016 – 19:30 — Add to Calendar
wso square logo red

Autumn Concert 2016

Overture Prince Igor - Alexander Borodin
A Somerset Rhapsody - Gustav Holst
Clarinet Concerto in A - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
with Simon Underhill, clarinet
Symphony 1 ‘Winter Daydreams’ - Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Pomp and ceremony, fanfares, Russian dances, and seductive melodies abound in Borodin’s Overture to his only opera Prince Igor. A Somerset Rhapsody is Holst’s first work as a champion of the English folk tradition, quoting 3 tunes from Cecil Sharp’s collection. Later symphonies by Tchaikovsky are better known than no.1, but it shows all the composer’s trademarks within an atmospheric Russian style. Mozart’s only concerto for clarinet is played by local clarinet soloist and teacher Simon Underhill. It is regarded as the best of its class, not just for the sublime music and the interplay of soloist and orchestra, but for the way it brought the clarinet into full public recognition.

Ticket prices:- £12 (adult), £10 (Friends), £2 (children) Tickets available on the door or in advance from Puffs Toy Shop.

« Back to Events

RSS Feed